If a Red player in an offside position receives the ball from a throw-in and scores, what happens?

Get ready for the AYSO Intermediate Referee Test with flashcards and detailed multiple-choice questions, each accompanied by explanations and hints. Start your preparation journey today!

In the situation described, the correct outcome is that the goal is awarded and play continues. The Laws of the Game state that a player cannot be offside directly from a throw-in, corner kick, or goal kick. In this case, even though the Red player is in an offside position when receiving the ball, the fact that the ball was received from a throw-in means they are not penalized for being offside. Consequently, the goal stands, and the match continues as usual.

This rule serves to encourage attacking play and allows for more fluidity in the game, ensuring that players aren’t unfairly penalized simply for their positioning during a restart situation like a throw-in.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy